Second Cutting 2016

It’s been a little over two weeks since we put up our second cutting of hay.  What started out as a beautiful Wednesday afternoon to bale hay turned into a visit to the ER. With my “I can do that” attitude, I tried to move the hay elevator closer to the barn loft. The crank is a manual gear and some how my left hand got hit/caught in the crank or gear; it all happened so fast that all I remember is the excruciating pain and blood.  In the ER, I was teasing that I needed to update my tetanus shot but this is definitely not the way I wanted it to happen.  My injury is mostly to my ring finger; it is a crush injury with fracture.  I am only able to look at finger now; maybe I will look at the ER photos at a later date. Thankfully, I had on my gloves. I checked them later to see only a small cut in them; my injury would have been worse without them.

Since the chores need to go on, my sweet husband finished baling and hauling the hay by himself.  I watched from the sidelines. Our second cutting yielded 200 bales.

Next cutting, I promise to “respect the hay elevator” as my  husband is always telling me…..

 

Leave a Reply

